top of page

lila

Lila stood in her bedroom, the late afternoon sun streaming in through sheer curtains, wicked thoughts playing through her mind as she was getting ready for her third date with Matthew:

Kiss me for no reason, then kiss me again;

make moments last for an eternity.

Smudge my lipstick with hungry lips

honed and primed to zero in on hot targets.

Bite me softly for no reason, then nibble me again;

with precision and practice pushing buttons to start;

rip seams and necklines in haste;

make my pulse rush and my heartbeat quicken in anticipation.

Then move away for no reason, and come closer again.

Master the measure of time...quick, slow, quick, slow...

making a mockery of it as you play it to full effect.

Pain and pleasure indistinguishable and undeniable in your hands.

Spoon me for a reason, then spoon me again,

in the dark of midnight, then in the soft light of dawn.

Show me that desire was born out of affection;

Then kiss me softly for a reason, then kiss me again.

Standing in her satin gown, fresh from the shower, Lila looked at her outfit spread out on the bed, checking to see if what she'd chosen would convey her thoughts, without her having to say a word.

Boom!

Kim flew into her bedroom , without knocking, casting inquisitive eyes over the room: "Hey, Lil."

"Hey roomie, you're home early," she said, bracing herself for a barrage of questions.

She loved Kim, but Kim was like an express train, once she got going, she seldom stopped.

"Third date, huh!"

"You going for obvious, I see," pointing to the bed overrun by black lace and dark intentions.

"Sure that's a good idea?"

"Obvious, I mean, don't you rather wanna play it cool, leave him wondering?"

"What we having for dinner? I was thinking Pizza...Oops, forgot it's the old favourite dinner & movie combo."

Take a breath, for heaven's sake, Lila thought, on edge.

"We can have a coffee before I start getting ready," she said, feeling guilty, "you can give me some pointers?"

Kim beamed: "Sure, dating guru, haha, you're in so much trouble taking advice from me."

Kim was somewhat of a barrister when it came to coffee, it was the only time she was calm, she poured herself into each cup she prepared.

"Tonight calls for a Kenyan roast, deep and rich and dark enough to keep you up all night," she teased.

This was the place she and Kim was most in sync, sat here in the tiny kitchen, speaking of men and life.

She tasted the bitter coffee Kim placed in front of her in the mug given to her at Christmas:

"Ho, Ho, Ho!" written in red, words said by a naughty Santa.

"Kinda in tune with tonight, don't you agree?" Kim teased her best friend.

A serious look crossed her face and she gaze intently at her friend:

"You're sure he's a good guy, Lil?"

"Only be with him if he's a good guy."

"I have to take a leap, Kim, but I promise I'll be careful."

Lila hugged her friend, loving her more for her concern.

Lila walked back to her room in a quieter mood, thoughtful now. She made her way through the darkened bedroom tripping over black stiletto's and fumbling around in the dark. A light went on (in the passage), her red beanbag lazying on the floor came into view. It look like a jumbled sale filled with discarded clothes, clothing she slipped in an out of quickly, clothing for that quick dash to the corner store for ice cream, or for a midnight run to McD's... hers for when she was most relaxed, most herself.

Hmmm...jeans and white t-shirt and her black pumps, simple and sassy.

Fresh faced, ponytail high, with a hint of happy in her step, she opened the door to Matthew, a smile her only accessory.

"Hi gorgeous," he said, grinning with pleasure.

She blushed crimson, pressure released, looking forward to a night of simple pleasures.

From the passage Kim waved goodbye to her friend.

Lila had every reason to smile, so she smiled again.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page